Basketball Diaries :: Introduction & Jump Shot Development

Back in January when I started this blog, I mentioned my basketball hobby, and applying the concept of Win Learn Change to everything you possibly can in life using it as an example.  I figured that it would be a good idea for me to start blogging more about basketball and the progress I try to make with it.

Before going any further, I’d like to note that I’m not an extremely physically athletic, gifted, or talented individual in general.  I do however love the game of basketball very much, and enjoy playing it as an amateur.  I resumed basketball play in the summer of 2008 primarily to get in shape and develop a healthy weight by body mass indexing standards.  Before that, I played until the 8th grade (1992, man I’m old).  With such a time gap, there was lots on the court for me to develop and re-develop.  This challenge became more of an endeavor to me than a side project.  Regardless, I’m glad this hobby has not been an easy journey as the rewards from succeeding are highly enjoyable.  I definitely intend to keep this hobby going for myself as long as I physically can and will blog about it here and there along the way.

For the past couple of years I have made various strides with my game, such as being able to run the game defensively and offensively on and off the ball, and develop some sort of a rhythmic jump shot.  A consistent in-game jump shot has been (and still is) the hardest task for me to develop.  After watching JR Smith’s Nike video on shooting drills, a simple suggestion of tucking my elbow has made all the difference lately.  The problem is, whenever I adjust my shot in basketball, it almost feels like I’m starting over to a certain degree.  Starting over however turns into motivation, and eventually that turns into results.  At any rate, JR’s pointers have helped me a great deal, and I highly recommend them for anyone looking for help or new ways to improve their jump shot.

Leave a Reply

